Skip to main content

You are here



16 August 1960, Stockholm, Sweden, by Theodore Von Karman. Independent non-governmental organization recognized by the United Nations in 1996.


Foster the development of astronautics for peaceful purposes; Recognize individuals who have distinguished themselves in a related branch of science or technology; Provide a program through which members may contribute to international endeavours; Cooperation in the advancement of aerospace science.


Regular Meeting (every two years). Board of Trustees (meets twice a year), consisting of: President; four Vice-Presidents and twenty-eight Trustees, seven from each Section: Basic Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Life Sciences, Social Sciences. Current President: Dr Madhavan G. Nair, Past-President: Prof Edward C. Stone, USA, Vice-Presidents: Mr Yannick d'Escatha, France; Prof Liu Jiyuan, China ; Dr Hiroki Matsuo, Japan; General Anatoly Perminov, Russia; Secretary General Dr Jean-Michel Contant, France. Activities: Encourage international scientific cooperation through scientific symposia and meetings and the work of six specialized commissions: - Space Physical Sciences, - Space Life Sciences, - Space Technology and System Development, - Space Systems Operations and Utilization, - Space Policy Law and Economy, - Space and Society Culture and Education. A major initiative of the Academy is the development of a series of "Cosmic Studies" and "Position Papers" dealing with the many aspects of international cooperation endeavours in: - The exploration and habitation of the solar sytems and beyonds; - The space debris, - The small satellites, - Declaration of Principles Concerning Activities Following the Detection of Extraterrestrial Intelligence, - EVA Safety and Space Suit Interoperability, - Inexpensive Scientific Satellite Missions, - Lunar and Martian Exploration, - Next Steps in Exploring Deep Space, - Space to promote Peace, - Space Traffic Management, - Knowledge Management in Space Activities, - Cost Effective Earth Observation Missions.


Establishment of cooperation with national academies: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (1985), the Austrian Academy of Sciences (1986, 1993), the Academy of Sciences of the Institute of France (1988, 2001), The Academy of Finland (1988), Indian Academy of Sciences (1990, 2007), The Royal Spanish Academy of Sciences (1989), German Academy of Sciences (1990), The Kingdom of Netherlands (1990), RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada (1991), the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (1992, 2002), the U.S. National Academy of Engineering (1992, 2002), the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities (1994), Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (1995), Chinese Academy of Sciences (1996), the Academy of Sciences of Turin (1997), the Australian Academy of Sciences (1998), The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (1999), the Brazilian Academy of Sciences (2000), the U.S. National Institute of Medicine (2002), Academy of Sciences of South Africa (ASSAf) and the Royal Society of South Africa (2011), National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (2012). Heads of Space Agencies Summit on the occasion of the IAA 50th anniversary (2010). IAA Regional Meeting Hanoi, Vietnam (2011).


  • Acta Astronautica (monthly) published in English;
  • IAA e-newsletter;
  • Proceedings of Symposia, Yearbook, Dictionaries and CD-ROM in 16 languages, Weekly News, Position Papers and Cosmic Studies, Scientific Papers Data Base on the IAA Web site.


Recent and planned conferences include:

08 April 2010, ISPRS/ESPI/IAA/IISL Conference on Current Legal Issues for Satellite Earth Observation, Vienna, Austria,

11 May 2010, 1st IISL/IAA Symposium on Space Law and Policy, Washington DC , USA,

29-30 May, 1st IAA Workshop on Coordination and Cooperation for Global Environmental Impact, Beijing, China,

02 July, 1st IAA Regional Meeting, Minsk, Belarus,

05-08 July, First IAA/RACT Workshop on Monitoring Global Phenomena and Man-Made Disasters, Riga, Latvia,

9-12 Aug 2010 ISRPS Commission VIII Symposium Remote Sensing Applications & Policies in cooperation with the IAA, Kyoto, Japan,

30-31 August IAA Regional Conference in Nagoya, Japan, on the occasion of the 50th year anniversay celebration. Event co-sponsored by JAXA and Nagoya City,

22-26 September 2010, IAA/GAMA 6th International Conference on Aerospace Medicine, Thessaloniki, Greece, 27 September / 1st October 2010, 61st IAC International Astronautical Congress, Prague, Czech Republic,

06-08 October 2010, 2nd IAA Symposium on Searching for Life Signatures, Royal Society, London, UK, 10 November IAA/ATUCOM/@tusoc Workshop on Internet and GPS Using Satellites and Broadband in Africa,in the framwork ofICT 4 ALL Forum Tunis+5, Hammamet, Tunisia,

30 November -2 December 2010, IAA/NASRDA International Symposium on the Equatorial Plane: Attributes and Characteristics, Abuja, Nigeria,

06-07 December 2010, International IAA Conference on "Small Satellites Programmes for Socio-Economic Benefits, and the Role of IGMASS", Yaounde, Cameroon,

24-29 January 2011, 1st IAA Conference on University Satellites Missions and 1st CubeSat Winter Workshop in Europe, Roma, Italy, April 2011, 8th IAA Symposium on Small Satellite for Eath Observation, Berlin, Germany,

20-22 April 2011, 3rd International Conference on Advanced Space Technologies for Humankind Prosperity (Space Technologies: present and future), Dnepropetrovsk, Ukraine,

10-13 May 2011, 2nd IAA Planetary Defense Conference, Bucharest, Romania,

11-14 July 2011, 7th Symposium on Realistic Advanced Scientific Space Missions - Missions to the Outer Solar System and Beyond, Aosta, Italy.


Full and Corresponding Members (active: 1244) in four Trustee Sections;

Honorary members (5);

members in 78 countries.

- Africa: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ivory Coast, Libya, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tunisia.

- Americas: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Columbia, Cuba, Mexico, Uruguay, USA, Venezuela.

- Asia: Bahrain, Burma, China, India, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Malaysia, Mongolia, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syria, Thailand, Turkey, Vietnam.

- Europe: Armenia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Rep., Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Ukraine. - Oceania: Australia, New Zealand.

International Academy of Astronautics